The members of the NewAthena Science Study Team

    ESA has officially appointed the NewAthena Science Study Team, which is formed by the following members:

    • Dr Matteo Guainazzi - ESA project scientist - ESTEC/ESA.
    • Prof Didier Barret - X-IFU PI - Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie.
    • Prof Kirpal Nandra - WFI PI  - Max-Planck-Institute für extraterrestrische Physik.
    • Dr James Aird - University of Edinburgh.
    • Dr Laura Brenneman - NASA representative - Harvard & Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.
    • Dr Elisa Costantini  - SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research.
    • Dr Thomas Dauser - Dr. Karl Remeis-Sternwarte. Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg.
    • Dr Dominique Eckert - Université de Genève.
    • Dr Hirofumi Noda the following members form- JAXA representative -  Astronomical Institute. Tohoku University.
    • Dr Ciro Pinto -  Istituto di Astrofisica Spaziale e Fisica Cosmica Palermo (INAF – IASF).
    • Dr Gabriel Pratt - CEA Saclay - IRFU - Département d'Astrophysique.
    • Prof Nanda Rea - Institut de Ciencies de l'Espai (ICE-CSIC).
    • Dr Eleonora Troja  - Università degli Studi di Roma Tor Vergata.


    This team will define the science requirements of the mission and will support ESA on all aspects of the study phase related to the science return of NewAthena until adoption in 2027.

    The large Athena community is looking forward to supporting this new stage of the mission, as it has been doing since 2014.