The Athena Community

The Athena community counts more than 1000 researchers divided into five Working Groups: SGW1 The Hot Universe, SWG2 The Energetic Universe, SWG3 Observatory Science, TWG4 Telescope and MWG5 Mission Performance. Most of them are organised in Topical Panels (e.g. SWG1.3, MPG5.2, etc).

The application for Working Group membership is currently closed. We will inform you on this website when the process reopens.

In case of affiliation changes, please fill in this form with the updated data and consentPlease note that if messages sent to an email in our database bounce regularly, the corresponding person will be removed from the community database.

In case of Group/Panel membership changes, please contact us by email.

NewAthena Science Study Team 

Dr Matteo Guainazzi - ESA project scientist - ESTEC/ESA,  Prof Didier Barret - X-IFU PI - Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie, Prof Kirpal Nandra - WFI PI - Max-Planck-Institute für extraterrestrische Physik, Dr James Aird - University of Edinburgh, Dr Laura Brenneman - NASA representative - Harvard & Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics,  Dr Elisa Costantini  - SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research, Dr Thomas Dauser - Dr. Karl Remeis-Sternwarte. Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Dr Dominique Eckert - Université de Genève, Dr Hirofumi Noda - JAXA representative -  Astronomical Institute. Tohoku University, Dr Ciro Pinto -  Istituto di Astrofisica Spaziale e Fisica Cosmica Palermo (INAF – IASF), Dr Gabriel Pratt - CEA Saclay - IRFU - Département d'Astrophysique, Prof Nanda Rea - Institut de Ciencies de l'Espai (ICE-CSIC), Dr Eleonora Troja  - Università degli Studi di Roma Tor Vergata.


Athena Community Map

In this map, we show the members of our community together with their topical panels' memberships, positioned in their reference institutes. If you can't find yourself, contact us.